MINUTES OF AN EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL held at the Guildhall Portsmouth on Tuesday, 19 March 2024 at 2.00 pm

Council Members Present

The Right Worshipful The Lord Mayor Councillor Tom Coles (in the Chair)

Councillors

Yinka Adeniran Lee Hunt Mark Jeffery Dave Ashmore Abdul Kadir Matthew Atkins Leo Madden Chris Attwell Kimberly Barrett Brian Madgwick Simon Bosher George Madgwick Hannah Brent Hugh Mason Rvan Brent Kirsty Mellor Stuart Brown Leonie Oliver Peter Candlish Darren Sanders Cal Corkery Asghar Shah Russell Simpson Raymond Dent Chris Dike John Smith Jason Fazackarley Judith Smyth George Fielding **Emily Strudwick** Charlotte Gerada Benedict Swann Lewis Gosling Mary Vallely Graham Heaney Gerald Vernon-Jackson CBE

> Daniel Wemyss Matthew Winnington

10. Declaration of Members' Interests

There were no declarations of interest.

11. Apologies for Absence

Ian Holder

Suzy Horton

Apologies had been received from Councillor Steve Pitt.

12. Deputations from the Public under Standing Order No 24.

The Lord Mayor advised that no deputation requests had been received for this meeting.

13. Granting of the Freedom of the City on Honorary Alderman Frank Jonas BEM

It was:

Proposed by Councillor Simon Bosher

The meeting concluded at 2.11 nm.

Seconded by Councillor Suzy Horton and jointly supported by Councillor Charlotte Gerada, Councillor George Madgwick and Councillor Cal Corkery.

That Honorary Alderman Frank Jonas BEM be formally admitted to the roll of Honorary Freemen of the City of Portsmouth.

Councillor Simon Bosher spoke to the proposal, detailing the service which Honorary Alderman had given to the council whilst a councillor and continued to give as an honorary alderman.

Following the vote, the motion was declared CARRIED.

It was therefore RESOLVED that Honorary Alderman Frank Jonas BEM be formally admitted to the roll of Honorary Freemen of the City of Portsmouth.

The meeting conduced at 2.11 pm.
Lord Mayor
Lora mayor